365 Challenge Day 209 – Rice

12 Jan

I did a ton of cooking today.  This is very exciting because I have food to last for many meals, and I’m so proud of myself that I packed it all up in little containers, all ready to grab and bring to work. I also froze the extra so it won’t go bad when I get sick of it and need a break.  I made a coconut curry.  I did okay on my mission to use up all the stuff in my kitchen, but I did end up buying a lot of the ingredients.  I used brown rice, black beans, and some garlic, but the carrots and cabbage in my fridge were a little scary, so I decided to buy fresh.  I also bought some chick peas, which now that I think about it, I could have used some of the dried beans I have here instead, but the dish is really good with chickpeas.  I had some canned coconut milk already, so that was used.

Feeling kind of disappointed that I didn’t use more stock from my kitchen, at the last minute I decided to make the forbidden rice!!  Also known as Chinese black rice.  I’m really not sure what to do with it, so I’m just cooking it, and will mix it in with the black beans and brown rice, and see how it goes.

IMG_3994 IMG_3995

You have to admit this stuff is pretty amazing looking!!  No wonder I couldn’t resist buying it!!  But when I think about it, I realize that it is pretty ridiculous how many different kinds of rice I buy.  Here is the full list of what I have been trying to use up in the past couple of months:

1) short grain brown rice

2) brown basmati rice

3) brown sushi rice

4) white sushi rice

5) white basmati rice

6) white long grain rice

7) white jasmine rice

8) arborio rice (for risotto)

9) and of course, black forbidden rice

And I wonder why my kitchen is so packed!!  Now we do eat quite a bit of rice, and my kids won’t eat brown, and I don’t like to eat white, but we really only need about 3 of those, 4 max!

 

2 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 209 – Rice”

  1. meeshty January 12, 2015 at 8:40 pm #

    Random question – did you also freeze the rice? I’ve been wondering if this is possible…

    • truebodymindsoul January 14, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

      Thanks for reading my blog! I did freeze the rice! Sometimes freezing stuff can change the texture a little, but I think rice should be fine. Trader Joe’s sells frozen rice (which I’m kind of embarrassed to admit I’ve purchased, but sometimes having rice ready in 3 minutes instead of 40 is a miracle!) The TJ rice always tastes great!

Leave a comment