365 Challenge Day 84 – Vegan

13 Aug

As I wrote earlier my 14 year old daughter has decided to be vegan.  I am pretty thrilled about this because I think it will be really good for her health.  She is lactose intolerant and allergic to eggs.  She’s on her fourth day, and still staying strong to her commitment.  Yesterday we went to an Egyptian falafel place, and both really enjoyed the veggie platter.

She was lamenting that if her brother and I were eating fish in front of her that it would make things really hard, and so I asked her if she wanted me to be vegan with her and she said yes.  Since she’s at an age where she seems to want to do the exact opposite of anything I ask her to do, I jumped at the chance to do something to bring us closer.  So, that’s it, I agreed to be fully vegan again, which means I’m off fish and seafood.  My daughter is going to allow herself one cheat day a month, and maybe, just maybe, I’ll do the same.  Personally I find it harder to cheat, because once I eat fish one day, I’m more likely to do it again the next, and the next.  So we’ll see how it goes.

BTW – my friend told me about this new movie, and looks very well done and very powerful.  I hope it goes viral!!

Cowspiracy Documentary

Leave a comment