365 Challenge Day 303 – Meditation

5 May

After many months of a break, I feel like I’m finally coming back around to silent meditation.  I’ve just been craving it.  Like a vegetarian who eats meat for a while but then craves the healthy clean feeling again of eating veg.

I don’t aspire to make it a daily practice, I just want to incorporate it into my week, along with yoga, and dance, and work and kids, and everything else I do.

Last night I had insomnia, which is very unusual for me.  I decided to use that time to meditate because I didn’t want to get up out of bed.  I did a body scan starting at the top of my head.  At first my attention didn’t stay long because my mind was racing so much I’d be off in thought, but soon I was able to stay focused on the sensations in the body, calm the mind, and feel a sense of peace and relaxation.

I hope to sit again tonight.  I miss it!

Leave a Reply

