365 Challenge Day 284 – Authenticity

28 Apr

One thing I really appreciate about my yoga teachers is how authentic they are.  My teacher told a story in class about how she was drinking her coffee at 6am, and two of her dogs came out (she has five dogs!) She was extremely anxious about the new little puppy following the big dog because they are not used to each other yet, so she panicked and threw her (warm) coffee at them.  She described in such detail, with the two dogs just looking at her with the coffee dripping down, and her husband calmly turning to her and asking, What’s up, Honey?

Oh my God, I laughed so hard at this story that I was seriously crying, tears running down my face, I couldn’t stop.  I love my teacher’s willingness to be so open about her actions, despite the fact that they didn’t seem very “yogic”.  She’s been teaching for more than 20 years, so I guess she doesn’t have to prove anything to anyone at this point.

Leave a Reply

