365 Challenge Day 279 – Entertainment

28 Apr

I bought a book that sounded really interesting called New Self, New World.  I also have two books from my yoga teacher training, The Yoga Sutras, and The Baghavagita.  Oh, and one more, I have a book I borrowed from a friend that is about the yoga energy Chakras.  Well, I haven’t read any of these, except the first few chapters of the Gita because it was specifically assigned in the teacher training.

In the meantime, I’ve read dozens of mysteries!  Sue Grafton, Marica Muller, Robert Parker, Tony Hillerman, Janet Evanovich, etc.  I used to download dharma talks and listen to them while driving, cleaning, walking, hundreds of them, maybe thousands!  Now I download audio books and listen to those instead.

This has been going on for a while now!!  I guess it’s just a phase, the way listening to the dharma talks was a phase?  At the time that was really all I wanted to hear, anything else seemed silly.  Now that I’m in a phase when I’m trying to integrate my practice back into my “regular” life, I guess it makes sense that I want to read “regular” stuff.

I am interested in those other books, but have just had a really hard time focusing and prioritizing them.

Leave a Reply

