365 Challenge Day 276 – Decluttering

28 Apr

I started packing for my vacation, and when I pulled out my box of summer clothes I could see all the skirts and dresses that I haven’t worn in years.  For example, I have at least 3 skirts that were tailor made for me when I lived in Senegal, and well, that was more than 20 years ago.  I never wear them.  They actually still fit, and the fabric is beautiful, but the styles have changed a lot and when I think about it now I realize how dated they are.  I’ve always had trouble letting them go, but when I saw them this time my immediate reaction was, Why am I keeping these? Get rid of them!

I’m excited to lighten up.  I also have some work clothes that I think I’m ready to pass along.  And some extra shoes.  I have a pair of sandals that had a velcro strap and the velcro ripped off.  This seemed like a fairly easy repair so I held on to them.  But then when it came time to pack for my vacation I quickly ordered a new pair so they’d arrive in time.  Oh well, I’m not really the kind of person that sews and repairs things, I have to admit.  So replace, and recycle.  I’ll keep you posted!

Leave a Reply

