365 Challenge Day 275 – Soy

28 Apr

I know there is a lot of controversy around soy products, like how they can mimic estrogen and affect our hormone levels, but I’ve never been worried about that. In fact I have always suspected that the soy controversy was instigated by the dairy industry. I love soy, it’s so rich and creamy and delicious, and unlike most other non-dairy milks, soy milk has a lot of protein in it.

However, I do have a problem. I’m allergic. When I was having some serious health problems about 10 years ago I got a full panel of allergy tests, and soy came up as a mild allergy. At first I eliminated all allergens. My health improved immensely. But eventually I added soy back in because the allergy was mild (some were really high, like eggs and dairy) and I didn’t feel like I was having much of a reaction.

Well, when I gave up coffee I also gave up soy, and I have to say I do feel better. It’s hard to tease it out since I gave them both up around the same time, but I’m going to try to stick with it and see how it goes. Plus, I probably cut several hundred calories out of my day by switching from big soy lattes throughout the day to plain green tea.

Leave a Reply

