365 Challenge Day 217 – Food

24 Jan

Something strange is happening with my eating habits.

First of all, my appetite has been through the roof!!  I seriously have not felt this insatiably hungry since I was pregnant!!  My friend keeps saying it must be because I’m exercising so much, and I REALLY hope that is the case, but I’m terrified I’m about to gain 20 pounds and just don’t see it yet.  I’m actually afraid to get on the scale.

Sometimes I do eat pretty light, and it makes sense I’ll get hungry again.  Today I just had a bowl of lentil soup and a salad for lunch.  Within a few hours I was starving.  I had some rice cakes with peanut butter and fruit only jam.  But earlier this week I had a pretty solid lunch of brown rice pasta with tofu, vegan cheese, and lots of veggies.  It was very heavy and satisfying!  But I was still starving again in a few hours!

I also have been really craving protein.  This has been going on for a while, but is getting worse.  I started eating chicken!!  I can’t even remember the last time I ate chicken, maybe a decade ago!!  Well, I’ve had tastes twice, and had an actual serving twice.  I’m not sure what will happen with this.  I probably won’t keep eating it.  I hope.  I have very mixed feelings about it, mostly I feel kind of gross and don’t really want to continue.  But somehow I keep wanting more.

I know I have gained muscle, so maybe my metabolism has increased (I would really love to think this is the explanation!)  But there are athletes and bodybuilders who are vegan, so I don’t want to use that as an excuse for eating fish, and now chicken.  Maybe I should start having a protein smoothie every day and see if that helps.  Maybe I need to snack on some fruits and make sure my blood sugar doesn’t get too low.  I don’t know.  It’s so strange.

Leave a Reply

