365 Challenge Day 192 – Money

25 Dec

One of my goals for this year, although it hasn’t been at the forefront, is to be better with money.  I’ve had periods of my life when I was so frugal, and so good with money, but now that I’m making more, I just seem to spend it in ridiculous ways!  I eat out way too often (by myself, and with the kids); I spend way too much money on food and groceries and then don’t end up cooking it all; sometimes I buy stuff I think I need, and then don’t use it…

New Year’s Eve is coming up, and I think this is going to be one of my big New Year’s Resolutions.  Track my spending, and spend less.

One of my recent attempts to spend less has been to use coupons, and oh man, am I terrible at it!!  I have gotten some good deals, and hopefully will avoid paying full price on a lot of the things I use daily that can be expensive, but so far all I’ve managed to do is spend even more money than I usually do by stocking up on these good deals!!  I definitely have not figured out how the people on these couponing blogs get stuff for free!!

I spend a LOT of money on food, and here are the things I KNOW I need to do:

1) Plan menus

2) USE the food that’s in my house instead of always bringing in more

3) COOK

4) Pack a lunch

I’m also thinking that for the months of January, February and March that I could try to just not buy anything non-essential.  No books, no yoga paraphernalia, no item that I’m convinced will make my life more complete or more convenient, and no clothes!!  I have a bit of credit card debt (less than a thousand) and I really want to pay it off completely.

If anyone has tips for frugal living, especially with kids, I’d love to hear them!!

5 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 192 – Money”

  1. ricodilello December 25, 2014 at 2:00 pm #

    Money saving tip, if you have a big freezer, get a bread maker, nothing like home made bread for lunches. It will pay for itself in no time and the bread tastes so much better than store bought. Merry Christmas

  2. Bodhi Clown December 25, 2014 at 9:55 pm #

    Seeing what we do & how it affects our lives, then tweaking to make our lives better — always an interesting process! Paying attention like this is a worthy endeavor, for sure. Good luck w/ the New Year’s resolution! And thanks for following my blog:)

Leave a Reply

