365 Challenge Day 176 – Community

5 Dec

I went to yoga tonight, and ran into two other students from the yoga teacher training.  It was so fun to stay after class and talk to them about the Bhagavad Gita chapters that we are reading.  I felt like I was in college again!!  One of the best things about this training is just getting to know other people who go to the studio and feeling a sense of community with them!!  (I also love when I walk in and the person at the front desk just says hi and signs me in before I even pull out my membership card : )  If you go to a small yoga studio all this might seem very unexceptional, but my studio is really huge.  We’re in a city, and it’s next to a subway stop, and on any given night there may be between 40 and 60 people in a class.  I’ve been there a couple of times when they crammed the maximum of 90 people in the room!  There is a very small reception area and it’s not conducive to socializing!

The more people I get to know, and the more often I go, the more comfortable I feel meeting new people.  I’m not shy, but it’s just awkward when everyone is focused on their own thing!  But now if I see someone there several times a week I’ll just say hi and introduce myself.  Or if I see someone I’ve met talking to someone else, I’ll join the conversation and meet them too!  It’s growing exponentially!  Now I just need to figure out how to remember all their names!

Leave a Reply

