365 Challenge Day 170 – Vegan?

23 Nov

Or not…

I guess I’m vegan + fish.

I have been eating so much seafood and fish.  I’ve been REALLY craving it.  I’ll even buy canned smoked herring and eat it straight out of the can.  That probably sounds pretty gross.  My sister, who has been strictly vegan in the past, offered me some as a snack because we’ve been going through the same thing!

Tonight I went to Thai food and instead of getting tofu like I usually do I got scallops.  I usually love scallops, I find them so delicious!  But these were pretty gross.  I don’t know why, maybe they were farm raised.  They were small, flavorless, and tasted like they’d been soaked in salt.  Yuck.  It’s times like those when I feel regret and decide it’s not even worth it, that I should just be vegan!

I have definitely been building a lot of muscle, which is awesome, and I need protein for that.  But I know this is just an excuse because I eat tons of beans, drink soymilk, and sometimes even use protein powder in my smoothies.  I’m VERY good at getting a lot of protein even when I eat vegan.  I’ve been known to have lentil soup for breakfast : )

Ethically, I feel best when I eat vegan.  Health wise, I probably feel best when I eat fish.  That’s my dilemma.  For now I’m listening to my body.

2 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 170 – Vegan?”

  1. zirah1 December 25, 2014 at 1:25 pm #

    Thanks for the recent like at Evolution Made Easier. I always appreciate when someone takes the time to do that, plus it helps me find their posts, like this interesting Day 170 one of yours. And I can totally relate to your last paragraph. The “ethical” issue use to be a big problem for me, but then I realized it was partly because I was operating on spiritual idealism (which is NOT the same as true spiritual ideals, at least from my pov) and other people’s shoulds and shouldn’ts and not really listening to MY inner guidance and also honoring what was/is best for my body…..although I do usually eat animal protein sparingly and try to make a point of buying pastured eggs, wild caught fish, etc.

    • truebodymindsoul December 26, 2014 at 3:22 pm #

      Thanks, I really appreciate this comment and it has given me a lot to think about!!

Leave a Reply

