365 Challenge Day 169 – Active

16 Nov

It was a gorgeous, sunny, unexpectedly warm day.  Sixty one degrees!!  Not bad for mid-November in New England!  The autumn leaves were spectacular!

I had the day off for a holiday, and I immediately thought of three things I wanted to do: yoga, running, and Zumba!  It struck me that if that’s my idea of a perfect day I must be a pretty active person!!  But realistically I knew I’d only make it to two out of the three.  I chose running, because it was so beautiful and I wanted to be outside.  And because my kids told me I was in a grumpy mood so I figured I could use some endorphins : )  I also chose yoga.  It was a one hour class, which was perfect, and I did a lot better than I thought I would after the run!  I felt strong!  Oh well, I would have loved to go to Zumba too.  Maybe someday I’ll be able to do all three!

I’m not running faster, or further, or more easily.  But I am running more often!  I went three times this week.  And I really enjoy it!! Progress.

I also did some cooking.  I made a quick and easy vegan corn chowder with sauteed onions and celery, canned corn, diced potatoes, unsweetened almond milk, bay leaves, and chickenless bullion.  Yum!  Okay, okay.  Let’s keep it real.  I also made some grilled cod with garlic and olive oil for my son, but he wouldn’t eat it.  Since I haven’t been vegan lately I happily ate it.  I actually added some to the corn chowder and made it fish chowder!  It was delicious!

Leave a Reply

