365 Challenge Day 161 – Gita

9 Nov

One of the reasons I’m so excited about the yoga teacher training I’m doing is because of the spiritual side of the training.  My teachers are definitely not just focusing on the physical, asana practice!  In fact, they said that we’ll be covering Ayurveda, energy, the chakras, and even astrology!!  We are going to read two books, The Bhagavad Gita and The Yoga Sutras.  And the amazing thing is the translations and commentary of these two books are done by my family’s guru!  My parents lived at his yoga ashram when I was born!  I have a book of his that is of photographs of the asanas, but I didn’t even know these books existed.  When I called my sister to tell her, “Guess what books we’re reading for the training!”  She responded saying, “Oh yeah, I’m reading those two books right now too.”

So, it’s pretty exciting.  I’m very curious and interested to learn this spiritual side of yoga, and see how it differs from, or is similar to Buddhism.

2 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 161 – Gita”

  1. Jenny Fagan November 9, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

    Great post – I didn’t know anything about the non-physical side of yoga until my teacher training and learned so much! I’ve gotten hooked on Ayurveda and essential oils now :). Good luck with your training- sounds like it’ll be wonderful!

    • truebodymindsoul November 14, 2014 at 7:47 pm #

      Thanks so much! I’m looking forward to learning more about Ayurveda, I don’t really know anything about it!

Leave a Reply

