365 Challenge Day 156 – Energy

4 Nov

I’ve written a lot about personal physical energy, but today I’m talking more about “universal” energy, about Chi. I’m really not sure what most Americans think about Chi, the universal life-force energy that flows within our bodies and all around us, but my guess is most don’t believe it exists at all.  Of course, in most of the world Chi is just as real as electricity, and heat.  Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean you can’t feel it, use it, or misuse it!   It is the basis of traditional Chinese medicine, it is also the same as Prana in yogic practices.

Well, all of this ramble is mostly for myself, because I am a little embarrassed to admit what I have been focusing on lately, Feng Shui.  I imagine most people reading this blog have heard of it.  It is a traditional Asian system for creating a home or work environment that is most conducive for good energy flow.  And even though I’ve been in my house for eight years now, I’m just looking at the Feng Shui layouts now!  This is the book I’m re-reading: Move Your Stuff, Change Your Lifemove your stuff

I definitely believe, 100%, that our environments affect us physically, emotionally, and energetically.  Some things in Feng Shui seem very intuitive, obvious, and common sense, at least to me.  Things like, if your house is filled with clutter, mess, unfinished projects, and broken objects, it is going to drain your energy.  Probably anyone would agree with that, right?   Some are slightly less obvious, but still believable, such as the shape and the layout of the room can affect you.  Things such as, it is not good to have a mirror facing your bed (that seems logical, if you wake up in the middle of the night and see this face staring at you in the dark, it might scare the crap out of you! Even if it’s your own : )  But then there a lot of things that seem like pure “superstition”, and that’s when I’m not sure how far I’ll go with it.  Of course, the power of intention is strong, so if you BELIEVE that painting the Prosperity corner of your house purple will bring you wealth, then sure, maybe that makes sense.  But if you don’t know a thing about Feng Shui and you have a toilet in that corner, will your wealth still go right down the drain?

Anyway, I have been having fun with it.  For the most part I have been focusing on clearing out clutter, getting rid of objects that no longer serve me, and creating a cleaner, clearer, more beautiful space.  I have also been using the Feng Shui as a guide for decorating.  I have been buying some new healthy plants and putting them in key areas.  And adding some bits of color with the power of intention behind them.  And this blog is all about bringing more intention to my life!  It’s definitely a work in progress!  But it’s been fun. It makes me smile when I see little corners of my rooms that I’ve intentionally set up and decorated.  And I’m very curious to see if any noticeable or dramatic changes happen in my life as a result.

So what do you think?  I would love to see some comments from my readers!  Have you heard of Feng Shui?  Have you used it?  Do you believe it?  Do you think it’s crazy?

Leave a Reply

