365 Challenge Day 107 – Reality

3 Sep

Today was my last day of vacation, so I’m not fully back to reality, but it was also my kids’ first day back at school, so I got a taste, and it’s not easy!  Despite my best intentions, I did not make it to yoga class today  : (

I couldn’t make it to any of the morning classes because I drove the kids to school, and had an appointment.  I couldn’t make it to the afternoon or first evening class, because I picked my daughter up from soccer practice, and my son from after school.  So, I had one shot today, and that was the late class at 7:45pm.  And I fully planned on going!  But as I was making dinner, chaos erupted.  My kids were both hungry, tired from not quite enough sleep, and exhausted from several hours of sports.  I won’t go into the full story, but the grand finale involved my son coming to the dinner table with his Nerf gun and firing at my daughter, and my daughter firing back with her taco and then a handful of refried beans.  This happened about 20 minutes before I was supposed to leave for class…  I’m lucky there was no blood.  They were so exhausted that they both fell asleep in my bed before 9pm.

Here is my dilemma:  I told my kids tonight that they are not allowed to have any television or video games on school nights, this has almost always been the rule, but last year I agreed to 20 minutes a night, which turned into 40, which turned into who knows how much.  So, my plan to be able to leave them peacefully hanging out at the house while I go to yoga on a school night may only work if there is television involved.  Tonight was the preview of what the evening could look like if I leave and they are alone with no distractions.

Anyway, I did 40 minutes at home.  Even thought I was disappointed not to make it to class, I ended up doing a very gentle and restorative practice tonight, which was probably really good for my body.  I focused more on gentle stretches, not strengthening or vinyasa.  My thighs, hamstrings, and gluts are especially tight and sore, and my right shoulder.  I used the roller tube to massage out my upper legs.  Stretched a lot.  And practiced scorpion pose.  And that’s about it!!  Tomorrow I will make it to class though.  My mom is watching the kids!

Leave a Reply

