365 Challenge Day 98 – Clutter

25 Aug

I’m feeling a little discouraged in the organizing/decluttering arena.  I may have hit a plateau.  I pulled out a box of summer stuff that was buried in my closet.  I knew there were things in there that I had not worn in many years, so I thought I would easily get rid of a lot of it.  But, it turns out there is a reason I have held onto that stuff so long!!  It’s nice stuff!!  Now I am struggling between acknowledging that there are items I have not worn in more than a decade (!!!), and the fact that I actually still really like the stuff and think I should keep it and wear it!!  I have several long, fitted skirts that were tailor made for me in Senegal, ummm… I don’t want to admit this, but that was 20 years ago.  I guess I should be ecstatic that twenty years and two pregnancies later they still fit!  I know I need to get rid of them.  I also have three linen dresses, a little shorter than I tend to wear these days, and very wrinkly, but still very nice.  Can’t quite bring myself to throw them in the give away.

If I can’t bring myself to get rid of a box of clothes I haven’t worn in a decade, what hope is there for me as a minimalist?!?!

Leave a Reply

