365 Challenge Day 88 – Play!!

18 Aug

I went to an aerial yoga class today.  And it was SO. MUCH. FUN!!!

If you have never heard of aerial yoga, also known as anti-gravity yoga, go on YouTube and check it out!!  It is a real yoga class, going through a lot of the familiar postures, but in a supported, fun, acrobatic kind of way.  It is an awesome way to take the pressure off and stretch out the spine.  It is a great way to get some extra stretch and balance in certain poses.  It really works upper body strength!  And it was the best savasana of my life, wrapped up in a silk cocoon, I felt like I was just levitating, floating in the air.  But mostly it was really really fun!!

10624856_10152682820705996_8708584114797624166_n

The class was completely full, and most of the people there had never done aerial yoga before, some had never done any yoga!!  Before the class started, everyone was just playing! Sitting in the silk and swinging back forth, hanging upside down, or wrapped up in the cocoon.  I looked around and everyone was laughing, smiling, and taking pictures of each other.  I realized how rare it is for me to find a form of “play” that I thoroughly enjoy like that.  I know plenty of adults who find ways to play, mostly with sports, and they seem to enjoy them but I never have.  I love spending time with my kids and will often nudge myself do things like snow tubing, sledding, or Nerf gun fighting, and I do enjoy it, but it’s not really my thing.  But this was!!  I loved it.  It brought out the kid in me.  I felt just like when I was 10 and would spend hours swinging and hanging on the monkey bars at the park.  I was really good at monkey bars!!

I will definitely be doing this again!!

Leave a Reply

