365 Challenge Day 73 – Cooking

4 Aug

Yesterday I skipped lunch because my dance class was at noon and then I stopped by a friends’ house on the way to the grocery store.  By 5pm I was so hungry that when she gave me some simple Haitian food: rice, black beans, and stewed vegetables with a side of avocado; I thought it was just about the best thing I ever tasted.  Anyway, I’ve always loved Haitian food.  When I got home I soaked some black beans, and then put them in the crock pot overnight.  I cooked up a storm today, I made the black beans (with onions, garlic, and some secret sauce I might parsley and spices)  rice (white rice, which I rarely eat, but was in the mood for) ripe plantain, not too ripe, and stewed vegetables which weren’t nearly as good as the ones I had yesterday.  I hate to admit it, but the others had some chicken broth in the sauce, which is the only difference I can think of.  And I didn’t have any veggie bullion.

I am embarrassed to admit that I also bought and cooked some cod fish.  I’ve been eating a lot of fish and seafood lately, but this is the first time I actually bought and cooked some for myself since I started the blog.  Guess I’m not going vegan again this week…

I’m excited that I have enough rice and beans and vegetables to last all week.  Hurray for cooking!!  I’m really hoping to spend a lot less money on food.  Of course, I bought these things at Whole Foods which means I also ended up with a small container of organic matcha, green tea powder that cost $20.  Such nonsense.

It’s bad that I’m craving dessert these days.  But, at least I kept it pretty healthy.  I made my own version of the PB & J smoothie I had in DC last week.  This one had soy milk, half a banana, frozen mixed berries, and peanut butter.  It was delicious and very satisfying!!   A yummy dessert and much better than having super strong soy coffee ice cream at 10pm!

Leave a Reply

