365 Challenge Day 69 – Milks

3 Aug

I love making my own homemade nut milks, especially almond milk and cashew milk, but they can be expensive, and it’s good to have back-up options when I run out.  I saw a recipe online for oat milk, decided to give it a try, and adapted it slightly.  It turned out great!!  I made it very thick, because I wanted to use it in coffee (yes, coffee, but that’s a different story.)  I was surprised at how delicious it was!  Not to mention easy, and cheap.

Here is my recipe:

1 cup organic steel cut oats, soaked for 20 minutes then rinsed
4 cups filtered water
tablespoon agave nectar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
pinch of salt
dash of cinnamon
and here is my secret ingredient:  1 tablespoon coconut oil (because fat free milk in coffee is gross, right?)

I blended the oats and water in my awesome Vitamix;  strained it in my awesome new nut bag;  then blended it again with the rest of the ingredients.

photo 3

My only warning is it does come out pretty slimy, especially because I made it so thick.  I don’t think it felt slimy when I was drinking it, but you can see the slime when pouring it, which might gross some people out. The Vitamix is powerful that it blended it extremely fine and there wasn’t much to strain.  Next time I’ll put it on a lower speed, leave it a little grittier, and then strain out more of the oat fiber.

It was so delicious I even drank some plain, over ice.  It reminded me of orchata.

Here you can see it in my iced coffee, nice and creamy : )

photo 4

Leave a Reply

