365 Challenge Day 53 – Veganism

14 Jul

I have been an “aspiring” vegan for, I don’t know, maybe 9 years now?  I have periods of time when I am very strict (diet wise that is, haven’t given away all my leather shoes) and I have periods of time when I am more lax.  Since my trip to Madagascar in May I have been eating fish and seafood again, and I have to admit I have been enjoying it.  But I have been eating quite a bit.  At work when I don’t bring a lunch I’ve gotten into the habit of getting a tuna salad, and I had one today on the road.  But suddenly it feels like enough.  Too much.  I’m not ready to go back to being 100% vegan, but I’ve come to a compromise with myself.  I’m going to eat vegan when I’m on my own, and on most occasions, and only eat seafood on rare and special occasions, like going out to a special dinner.  I always cook vegan, so part of the plan is just to cook more which I’ve been out of the habit of doing.

I’m excited.  I feel so great when I’m eating healthy and in line with my values.  I eat vegan for health, but mostly for ethical reasons, and avoiding eating seafood feels better for my soul.

I had Thai food yesterday and got a tofu and vegetable curry with brown rice that was delicious.  I also got a mango salad which I had never had before.  YUM!!!  It was so good.  I might try to replicate it at home!!

photo(14)

2 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 53 – Veganism”

  1. morganreboots July 16, 2014 at 10:51 am #

    That looks wonderful! Can you share a link to the recipe you used?

    • truebodymindsoul July 16, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

      Thanks for your interest!
      This came from a restaurant, but I’ve found a recipe online that looks pretty close. The one I ate also had cashews, red onions, and avocados. Even though it was called “green mango” salad, the mango was actually on the riper side, which was great, but not too ripe! Here is a recipe I found:
      http://mytastehistaste.com/2011/12/07/thai-green-mango-salad/
      Let me know how it turns out!

Leave a Reply

