365 Challenge Day 49 – Yoga Nook : )

11 Jul

20140710-221118.jpg

Today I did something I’ve been thinking about for the past 8 years since I’ve owned this house, I created a yoga nook, a dedicated space for doing yoga.  I have many friends who will be envious and admiring : )

This is an alcove in my bedroom that is about 5×6, and it’s where my queen sized bed has always been.  A couple of weeks ago I bought an air conditioner for the first time in my life, and when my attic bedroom hit 88, I turned it on.  What I quickly discovered was that I couldn’t sleep with it right next to my bed.  It was way too loud.  And too cold.  So I had to choose between moving the AC, or moving the bed.

I can’t really move the AC by myself, so the next time I ended up pushing the bed out, just to be able to sleep.  Today I decided to just go for it!  And the room rearranging began.  I moved a few other things out, a night table, and bookshelf that I used as a headboard. And  I moved the bed against the other windows in the middle of the room. And voila!!  A yoga nook!

The rest of my room is now a bit of a cluttered mess while I figure it out.  I’d like to get rid of a lot of it, or at least hide it better.

So, I thought before I write about my yoga space, I’d better use it!!  I walked for an hour at lunch today (saw the swan babies again, they are getting big!), then ran around the pond tonight for 24 minutes (hurray!), then came home and did some yoga for 20 minutes.  It felt great!  And I practiced Scorpion Pose for a few minutes!  It was nice to be in that space, even though it still feels a little sterile.  I’ve already added a plant, but feel like it needs more.

This is likely a very temporary arrangement, I’m not sure I like it.  Now, instead of having my big bed tucked away in a corner it’s right in the middle of the room.  But I’ll give it some time, maybe a month or two, and see what happens!  Maybe it really will inspire me to do more yoga!  Remind me that it is a priority for me.

 

20140710-223338.jpg

3 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 49 – Yoga Nook : )”

  1. little chickadee July 11, 2014 at 3:24 am #

    So jealous!

    • truebodymindsoul July 11, 2014 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks, little chickadee! I’m excited. (BTW- you’d be a lot less jealous if you saw the chaos I created in the rest of my bedroom by setting this up!)

Leave a Reply

