365 Challenge Day 47 – Intention

9 Jul

The goal in this year of  blogging is to live this precious life with intention, and I really felt like I did that today.  It was a beautiful day.  Not extraordinary, but just good.

I had my lunchtime meditation group at work, and with all the people traveling, on vacation, or wanting to spend time outside in this gorgeous summer weather, I didn’t have anyone come today.  Which was fine by me!  I did 2o minutes of silent meditation, and 20 minutes of yoga!  Right there at work, in one of the conference rooms, with the blinds down.  It felt pretty funny, and wonderful to practice my scorpion pose right there at the office.  I actually found a sweet spot and was able to relax into the pose and balance.  It was great!!  Very encouraging and motivating.

I actually packed a breakfast and lunch, a big bottle of green smoothie, organic steel cut oatmeal with raisins and cinnamon, brown basmati rice with curry, and split yellow pea dahl (which I’ve been eating for a week.)  The dahl and the steel cut oats were both cooked in my crock pot, so easy!  I’ve got to try to do some more recipes for that.

It’s quiet this week at work so I spent some time organizing my electronic files which I usually put off, and it felt very satisfying to get organized.

When I got home I made my son turn off the TV and asked him what he wanted to do.  We had some one 0n one time because my daughter is spending the night at a friend’s house.  I asked if he wanted to go to the pool, or come with me to gym because I had signed up for Zumba, but he totally surprised me and said, Let’s go rock climbing.  So we did!  He is just as afraid of heights as I am, so I’m not sure what inspired him, but we had a really good time.  It’s not very often we do something like that together, just the two of us.

photo(13)

We also had dinner at home with homemade sushi!  His idea.  He was thrilled because it’s his favorite food, and I was happy because I’ve been trying to prepare more food at home and save money.

I had to make some choices; I cancelled my Zumba class to spend time with my son; I’ve got dishes in the sink I may not get to tonight; I would have loved to go running tonight.  So, I couldn’t do it all, but what I did do was awesome : )

 

Leave a Reply

