365 Challenge Day 43 – Tiny

4 Jul

Last night I watched a documentary called, Tiny, about a couple that builds a tiny house.  I am a bit obsessed with watching videos on the tiny house and micro apartment movement!  I love them. Here is a good one!

My dad and his wife have actually lived full-time in their RV for years, so I guess it runs in the family.

My friends would laugh if they read this, because my house is pretty big (by city standards) and I have a lot of stuff.  But I love seeing how they pare down to the absolute minimum.  I love seeing how they organize everything so perfectly, with a place for everything and everything in its place.  And how they use every nook and cranny for storage.  It totally inspires me.  I definitely don’t want a smaller place!  But I love thinking that the more I can get rid of, the more open and spacious and organized my house will be.

I have a lot of things, but I’m definitely not a pack rat either!  Considering that I don’t have a basement or an attic, I’m doing pretty well, for an American mother of two.  I was terrified about the lack of storage when I first moved here because my old place had a basement the size of my entire apartment!  But, it was filled with so much junk that I never wanted to go down there to look for anything.  Winter clothes stored for the summer would disappear, never to be seen again.  Trips to the Goodwill would be postponed indefinitely as bags of giveaways were just thrown down there.  Now with just a few closets for storage, everything is literally in arms reach.  And I’m forced to get rid of stuff instead of storing it forever.

I have actually experienced life as a minimalist.  Yesterday I was remembering how in Senegal I lived in a studio and owned one towel, which was for the shower or the beach, and would also serve as a potholder.  I knew I’d be moving back the US at some point, so I didn’t accumulate much.  Plus, shopping was a huge pain there, having to haggle at the market for every little thing I bought.  Life was so simple back then.

Whenever I go into a camping or a travel store, I marvel at the little mini and practical objects.  I love the little foldaway and nesting items.  The Swiss Army knife that contains 12 different tools.  The towel that rolls up and can fit in the palm of your hand.  Or the little mini iron.  I always think everything in my house should be so cute and little and practical.  But no, not only do I own a cute mini travel iron, but I own a full sized one too.  This is especially ironic considering that I can’t even remember the last time I ironed, it’s probably been years.

Well, I have a long way to on my road to minimalism, but I am making progress.  Today I tackled the cabinets under my bathroom sink.  I threw away three small grocery bags worth of junk, and organized the rest.  I also worked on my daughter’s room with her for an hour and we made some good progress.

Scorpion pose update:  I just tried a couple of minutes, and it didn’t go so well!  I don’t usually have any trouble getting upside down and can hold headstand for several minutes.  But today when I flipped upside down all the blood rushed to my head and I felt like my face was going to explode! What’s up with that?  High blood pressure?  Low blood pressure?  Don’t know!  Well, I kept at it and practiced scorpion for a couple of minutes.  My balance is not great today, but it’s a start.

Leave a Reply

