365 Challenge Day 35 – Moderation

27 Jun

In Buddhism there are three “poisons’ that cloud the mind and lead to suffering, greed, aversion, and delusion.  And people have personality types fall predominantly into one of those categories; there are greedy types, that walk into a room and see what they like (and want); there are aversive types that walk into a room and see what they don’t like and don’t want; and the delusional types that barely notice they are in the room, there mind is someplace else.

I am, without a doubt, a greedy type : ) And as such, sometimes have trouble with moderation.  When I like something I really like it, and tend to overdo it.

I went running again tonight, it was really awesome.  It was a cool and overcast day, which was nice.  I ran for 20 minutes and the time when by really fast.  I ran into a good friend after and we walked for a while to catch up.  That would have been a good evening.  BUT, because I had such an awesome Zumba class on Tuesday, I wanted to go again!  So from running, and then walking, I went straight to Zumba class.  Probably not the best idea.  I told myself I’d take things slow!

I didn’t injure myself, but my back does feel really tight, we’ll see how it goes.  Last week I had a couple of days I could barely bend over or walk after I overdid it with the running.  I’ll be sure to do lots of stretches!

The good news is I cooked today!!  I made something slightly inspired by lasagna, but with spaghetti squash instead of pasta, and tofu mixed with Daiya vegan cheese and herbs, and sauteed zucchini, summer squash, portabello mushrooms, onions, and garlic.  I put it all together and baked it for 30 minutes.  It is delicious if I do say so myself!!

Leave a Reply

