365 Challenge Day 11 – Green Smoothies!!

26 May

I’ve mentioned them before, but today I am dedicating an entire post to green smoothies!!

Why am I so excited about them?  I just think they are a really healthy, really easy, and really yummy way to get some greens! And that’s gotta be a good thing.  Granted, it would probably be healthier to actually chew and eat all those greens, but seriously, who’s going to do that?  A whole bag of spinach for breakfast?  Plus, this way I’m not using any dressings or oils.

My go-to recipe is just banana, strawberry, and a whole bag of spinach.  But I’ve been getting more creative and adding more veggies.

photo(11)

This is what I used today:

Spinach
Romaine lettuce
Cucumber (with peel)
Celery
Frozen Strawberries
Frozen mango
Fresh lime juice
Green tea

All organic, except the mango.

20140526-113505.jpg

It was good!!  If that sounds (or tastes) gross, you can definitely start off with more fruit and less greens.  Spinach has a very mild flavor and is easy to mask with the fruit.  Personally, I try to use a minimum of fruit and a maximum of veggies because I figure the more fruit the more sugar, which I avoid.  You’ll see a lot of green smoothie videos where they load the smoothies up with pineapple and fruit juices, and I question the benefits of this.  Too much sugar hitting the blood stream at once will cause an insulin response which does bad things.  I actually like the taste of the celery and greens, although I understand that might be an acquired taste : )

I recently saw a recipe for a savory green smoothie, kind of like a raw soup, and I’d like to try that!  It looked really good!  It had jalepeno, garlic, a little avocado… I’ll post the full recipe when I try it.

I’ve been drinking green smoothies for a while, but I’ve never done it very consistently.  It will be interesting to see if it changes the way I feel by having one almost every day.  There are plenty of people on youtube making all sorts of claims about the benefits.  I’m not expecting miracles, but it would be nice I noticed improved energy and health.  I’ll keep you posted!

 

Leave a Reply

