365 Challenge Day 2 – Healthy Eating

17 May

20140517-102907.jpg

 

Every week they come out with some new study on nutrition, but the most extensive and scientifically legitimate one I have ever seen is The China Study.  Don’t be fooled by the Dairy Industry’s propaganda, folks.  Dairy is some seriously bad stuff (well, except for mother’s milk, of course, which is meant for the first few years, for our own species… )

To me, healthy eating means whole foods: unprocessed, unsweetened, natural plant-based foods. Here I am at a hotel in Madagascar, faced with an all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet.  The last two trips I came here I had my fair share of crepes with jam and butter, and pastries.  But not this time!!  This has been my breakfast just about every day: white beans (I’m always surprised they serve these for breakfast, I’m not complaining! I’ve heard it’s a British thing), vegetables (yes! broccoli for breakfast! love my veggies!), fruit salad with extra papaya and some banana.  And yes, that is a huge cup of coffee, in fact, I had two.  Don’t judge me : )

Speaking of judging, I try not to give unsolicited advice around food, or judge what others eat, but I do admit that I smile with a sense of self-satisfaction when I see others with their plates of white bread with Nutella, cold cuts, cheeses, bowls of cereal with cow’s milk, and extra sugar, croissants and pastries…

 

20140517-184450.jpg

This is my yummy dinner, the lighting is not great, but it’s yummier than it looks.  This is a vegetarian thali from my favorite local Indian restaurant.  It has mixed vegetables, red lentil dahl, curried potatoes, basmati rice, and a shredded cabbage and carrot salad which I love and need to figure out how to make!  Yummy!!  It also came with naan which I didn’t eat.  Indian food is some of my favorite vegan food, it is so tasty!  The one processed food I seem to eat quite a bit of still is white rice, I ask for brown when it’s available, but I tend to eat out a lot even when I’m not traveling.

A bonus about my favorite Indian restaurant is that it also has a spa!  I splurged for a 90 minute Swedish massage tonight.  It cost $30.  (Try not to be too envious!!)  This was also my meditation today, awareness of body sensations during the massage.  Instead of letting my mind wander all over the place, or using that time to plan or daydream, I brought my attention to physical sensations and stayed grounded in the present moment.

And tonight I did 30 minutes of gentle yoga, which I have come to realize is way better than zero minutes of power yoga : )

So, getting back to eating healthy, I’ve been doing great for the last couple of months, so I just need to keep it up.  But I do have a few goals:  now that spring is here (back home) I want to lighten up, as you can see from above, I tend to eat healthy, but pretty heavy.  I want to eat more salads and raw foods; less oils and fats (I think plant-based oils and fats are healthy, but they are calorie dense and I wouldn’t mind losing a few pounds); and plan menus for myself and the kids, cook at home more,  and eat out less.

 

2 Responses to “365 Challenge Day 2 – Healthy Eating”

  1. Amy May 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm #

    I’m glad you could find vegan breakfast there. It’s probably harder to find it in United States! That looks so good and healthy!

    Sounds like you’re too great start. Do you feel more inspired yet, having the blog piece?

    • truebodymindsoul May 18, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

      Breakfast here is great, but there are no vegan options at the hotel for lunch or dinner! I’ve been doing pretty well by eating other places, but today I had three meals at the hotel and ended up having some fish : (
      BUT, I have been more inspired in lots of ways! Especially yoga!! I’ve been doing it everyday, about 30 minutes, whatever I’m inspired to do. Friday was gentle stretches, yesterday was balancing poses, and tonight was inversions. FUN.
      Thanks for reading : )

Leave a Reply

