The Good, and The True

18 Jun

I wrote about my love of Vinyasa, and yoga, which is all true, but because the post was all based on enthusiasm and positivity, that is what I’m calling The Good, now I’m going write about the difficulties and challenges I face in my practice, which I’m calling The True.  As I said earlier, part of my path to authenticity is to work on expressing all sides of myself, not just the positive.

As much as I love yoga, being a mom and working full-time, I don’t make it to class as often as I’d like. Plus, I’m very flexible, but don’t have the supporting strength to balance out my flexibility, so I am often working with injuries.  I have been trying to establish an at-home practice so I can fit more in, and really make it part of my daily life, even if I can’t make it to class.  I guess I can say I have done this, I can honestly say that I have done some yoga everyday this year, but, I feel like I’m just going through the motions, and on many nights, okay, probably on most nights, it’s just 5 minutes.

I find this a little perplexing.  I have a daily meditation practice, and will easily sit for 20, 30, or 40 minutes at home, even on nights when I’m tired and it’s late.  But I have such resistance to my yoga practice!!  I put it off!!  I just don’t seem to want to do it by myself!!  So, I think it’s time to brainstorm.  I think I was trying to tough it out a little too much by not doing anything to make it more accessible, such as listening to a guided session, or music, or working on specific poses and setting goals.

A few years ago I started setting goals of working on some more advanced balancing poses, it really made the practice fun for me. Last year I was determined to master scorpion pose, but then I hurt my back, not doing scorpion, but probably overdoing it on dancer or king pigeon.  So.  I have a lot to think about.  Soon I’m going to set some mini goals for myself to bring so fun and play back into my practice so it won’t feel like geometry homework! But I’m not yet sure what those goals will be.  Maybe certain poses to work on, or areas such as core strength, or increased minutes of practice.

One exciting thing to report is that I did 30 minutes tonight, and a 45 minute meditation. One of the main reason I started this blog in the first place was to inspire me to do more, so I think it’s working!  It wasn’t the most flowing practice I’ve ever had, it felt kind of choppy, and disjointed, but I was REALLY glad I did it.  It’s been a long time since I’ve done 30 minutes on a weeknight without going to class.

If you’d like to leave a comment and share with me your own tips and tricks for inspiration in an at-home yoga practice, I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

